Michigan Car Insurance Requirements
Residents of Michigan are required to carry at least $20,000 in bodily injury liability protection, with a total of $40,000 for each accident. That same Michigan state law also states that all drivers must carry at least $10,000 worth of property damage liability coverage. This type of insurance coverage is called 20/40/10.
Michigan Insurance Coverage:
Bodily injury liability: $20,000/$40,000 minimum
Property Damage Liability: $10,000 minimum
State law only requires this minimum coverage, but that might not be sufficient for many drivers. Those drivers should strongly consider additional coverage, including higher liability coverage levels and coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. While most people will be responsible enough to pay for the coverage they need, not everyone will be. Michigan residents can protect themselves against those insurance scofflaws by taking out underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage.
We invite you to get the quote you need from Cheapautoinsuranceco.com. When you do, you can find the coverage you need, no matter what kind of car you drive and what level of coverage you need. We are certain that you can find exactly what you need at a price you can afford. We urge you to shop around as much as you can, because we are certain that you will find exactly what you need at a price you will find extremely affordable.
Michigan Additional Resources