Massachusetts Car Insurance Requirements
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts requires that all drivers in the state have at least $20,000 coverage for bodily injury liability, or a total of $40,000 per crash. The law in the Commonwealth also requires all vehicle operators to buy property damage liability insurance of at least $5,000. This type of insurance coverage is known as 20/40/5 coverage.
Massachusetts Insurance Coverage:
Bodily injury liability: $20,000/$40,000 minimum
Property Damage Liability: $5,000 minimum
While only bodily injury and property damage coverage is required by law, drivers can also choose to purchase additional protection for themselves and their property. One of the most important types of coverage is known as underinsured and uninsured coverage. This protection provides coverage in the event you are involved in an accident with a driver who either does not have insurance, or who does not have enough insurance in place. You should at least consider this coverage, and we encourage you to contact us for a price on that additional protection.
When you visit us at Cheapautoinsuranceco.com, you can get a quote that meets your individual needs. If you are a Commonwealth of Massachusetts resident who needs minimum coverage, you can find a low price on the coverage you need right here. And if you need more than the minimum, we can help you with that as well. No matter what you need, we are here to provide you with the protection you need. We invite you to shop around, and we are confident that you will be able to find a great policy at a great price.
Massachusetts Additional Resources